Quick Facts

  • Name: Shawn M. Vuong
  • Age: 31
  • Location: Cincinnati, OH
  • Occupation: Medical Doctor
  • Personality Type: INTJ
  • Astrological Sign: Leo
  • Chinese Zodiac: Tiger


Currently I am in a committed relationship. My wife is Jamie Vuong, and we have been together since May 11th, 2002 (currently over 16 years). We were engaged May 11th, 2007 and got married in Vermillion, SD in May 14, 2011.  After moving to Cincinnati, we have been blessed with two healthy and wonderful boys.  Athan our oldest born in the fall of 2013, and Bennett born in the summer of 2015.

Hobbies & Interests:

Music, bicycle riding, flying airplanes, computing, electronics and photography.

Curriculum Vitae:

I’ve done a lot of things with my life that relate to work. Check out my CV.

Quick Life Story:

After being born in Sioux Falls, I really didn’t venture too far until residency.

After attending elementary school in Sioux Falls then Parker, my family and I settled down in Hartford, SD – Home of the West Central Trojans. In high school, I was a nerd. Everyone in my class knew me, but not because I was popular. I only graduated with 100 in my class. During that time I was in a band called Confusion101. These were the days Blink182 and Sum41 were huge. In high school I did not really participate in many sports, instead I decided that working part-time was the way to go. I saved my money and spent it all on my car. It was a rice burner of course, specifically a 1998 Hyundai Tiburon. In 2004, I graduated high school and made the short drive down to the University of South Dakota for college. My first year I pledged to the Phi Delta Theta fraternity, and it was probably one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. During that time I made a lot of life long friends.

I eventually graduated from USD with a bachelor’s degree in biology, and in the fall of 2008 I started medical school at the Sanford School of Medicine. After graduating in May of 2012, I was lucky enough to match into neurosurgery at the University of Cincinnati, and am currently in my training.